Littleton Hawks 12U CSDHL Heads To Quebec

The puck is about to drop on peewee hockey’s biggest stage – and where LHA’s 12U AA CSDHL team is set to take the ice as the Jr. Avs.

In November, Littleton Hockey Association’s top peewee team won the Avalanche International Quebec Qualifier; its 5-0 championship win securing the team’s participation in the hallowed Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament.

Fast-forward to April 13, when the Colorado Avalanche hosted the peewees, who will represent the team as the Jr. Avs, for an official Quebec send off, equipment reveal and contract signing with Avalanche legend and current general manager Joe Sakic. The team then took the ice to stand on the goal line for the national anthem before the Avs game versus the Los Angeles Kings.

The Quebec tournament caps off an impressive season for the Hawks, who finished the season with a 65-8-2 overall record, including a 19-0-1 record in Colorado Competitive Youth Hockey League regular-season play; a 20-6 record over Central States Developmental Hockey League’s regular season; three players with more than 130 points each; 20 shutouts; and 385 goals for, 121 goals against.

In addition to the Quebec Qualifier championship, the team also won the Rocky Mountain AA Regional Silver Stick championship, the Littleton Hockey Association 50th Annual Mile High Thanksgiving Day Tournament championship, the CCYHL Playoffs title and Colorado Amateur Hockey Association State Championship.

The team will be in Quebec City from April 29-May 9. In between exhibition and tournament games, the Jr. Avs plan to take in a variety of what Quebec City has to offer, including a tour of parliament, a Quebec Remparts hockey game and a visit to a sugar shack, for example.

This year’s Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament is the 62nd edition of the tournament. Some of hockey’s greatest players have played in the Quebec International, including Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky and Mario Lemieux; peewee favorites Auston Matthews, Connor McDavid and Trevor Zegras; current Avalanche players such as Sam Girard, Nicolas Aube-Kubel and Andrew Cogliano; and NHLers Seth Jones, Nick Shore, Drew Shore, Richard Bachman and Drayson Bowman, former Littleton players who also represented the Colorado Avalanche.